Buttered beetroot

Buttered BeetsI thought I had seen every beetroot recipe going, having become a fan after years of thinking I hated it because I’d only ever encountered it soused in vinegar. The dish that opened my eyes was a gratin of beetroot and cream served alongside lamb in an excellent pub in Topsham, which was so delicious, and perfect with the lamb, that I made it as soon as I got home. Since then I have collected loads of beetroot recipes: soup, puréed, baked, raw in salad, in brownies, you name it. But I think this recipe is quite  a find: quick, easy, delicious and pretty healthy to boot. It is perfectly practical to make just enough for one or two, and if you don’t eat dairy, I’m sure it would taste equally good cooked in coconut oil instead of butter.

It comes from the Guardian column by Henry Dimbleby and Jane Baxter, and we first ate it, as they suggested, with venison stew. However, I think it would work in any number of other combinations – as a side with sausages or a lamb chop, or with roasted vegetables and lentils for example. These quantities are for 2, generously.

200g raw beetroot
1 dstsp balsamic vinegar
A good knob of butter (or 1 dstsp coconut oil)
A pinch of allspice
A drizzle of olive oil to finish

Trim, peel and grate the beetroot (ideally with the coarse plate of the food processor). Put in a sauté pan (which has a lid) with the butter and vinegar over medium heat. Stir until the butter has melted.

Cover with the lid and cook for 10 minutes. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil. See what I mean about quick and easy?

Watch this space for more variations on this recipe!

2 thoughts on “Buttered beetroot

Leave a Reply

